Board of directors

As a State Owned Enterprise, Transpower’s Board is appointed by its shareholder – the New Zealand Government.

Pip Dunphy


Pip has worked as a non-executive Director for the last 12 years. Current governance roles include a diverse range of industries and companies, including Chair of Abano Healthcare and a Director of the Fonterra Shareholders’ Fund and DGC Limited.


Dean Carroll

Deputy Chair

Dean has more than 30 years’ energy industry experience in New Zealand and internationally, most recently as CEO and Director of Lumo Energy Australia and Infratil Energy Australia. 




Richard Aitken

Richard has spent more than 40 years with multi-disciplinary consultancy Beca and eight years as Executive Chairman, stepping down in April 2017. He is widely recognised as a leader in the engineering sector, and is an officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM). Richard has served on the Boards of Trustpower, Manukau Wastewater services, Panuku Development Auckland and Hutt Valley Water Services, and is currently on the Board of Te Punaha Matatini. He received an honorary doctorate from the University of Auckland in 2016.


Bill Osborne

Bill retired as CEO of QV in 2015 to concentrate on governance. He is Director of Rangitira Services Limited and Ports of Auckland Limited, President of NZ Rugby and Chair of Page Macrae Engineering.



Ilze Gotelli

Ilze has 25 years’ experience working in the global water and energy industries, with 11 years working in New Zealand’s water sector. She is currently Head of Major Developments at Watercare. She holds masters’ degrees in International Law and Diplomacy (The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy) and Urban and Environmental Policy (Tufts University).


Kathy Meads

Kathy is a Director on the Boards of Port Taranaki Limited, NZPM Group Limited, Enable Service Limited and Shipowners Mutual Protection & Indemnity Association (Luxembourg), and is Chair of the Audit and Risk Committees for each of these entities. Kathy is a Fellow Chartered Accountant of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.


Sheridan Broadbent

Sheridan has been working in executive and governance roles in the infrastructure, technology and energy sectors for more than 20 years. She is the Deputy Chair of Kordia and of the Business Leaders’ Health and Safety Forum, and provides shareholder and board advisory services to SMEs and start ups in the technology and infrastructure sectors as Managing Director of Breach Consulting Ltd.


Roger Blakeley

Dr Blakeley is currently an elected member of the Greater Wellington Regional Council and is Chair of the Council’s Transport Committee. He is also an elected member of the Capital & Coast District Health Board and a qualified civil engineer with a PhD in earthquake engineering.

Dr Blakeley joined the Board in June 2020 and his initial term is until 31 May 2023.